Announcement

Pittsburgh Riverhounds: 2017 Preseason Schedule/Regular Season Schedule

The Pittsburgh Riverhounds disclosed Monday their seven-game 2017 preseason schedule. The meetings set at Highmark Stadium and the Allegheny Health Network Sports Complex at Cool Springs are free and open to the public.

2017 Riverhounds Preseason Schedule

Saturday, February 18 – at North Carolina FC – 1 p.m. – WakeMed Soccer Park (Cary, NC)

Sunday, February 19 – at Duke University – 11 a.m. – Athletic Field Complex (Durham, NC)

Saturday, February 25 – University of Akron – 1 p.m. – Highmark Stadium

Sunday, February 26 – Duquesne University – 8 a.m. – AHN Sports Complex (Bethel Park, PA)

Saturday, March 4 – at University of Pittsburgh – 1 p.m. – Ambrose Urbanic Field (Pittsburgh)

Sunday, March 5 – University of Charleston – 1 p.m. – Highmark Stadium

Monday, March 13 – at Rochester Rhinos – 3 p.m. – Capelli Sport Stadium (Rochester, NY)

Beautiful Game: The Riverhounds first meeting of the regular season will be Saturday, March 25 against the defending United Soccer League Cup Champions the New York Red Bulls II at Highmark Stadium as part of the league’s kickoff weekend. The start time for the home opener is still to be determined.

The Boys from the Big Apple, under head coach John Wolyniec, have claimed victory in four of their five matchups against Pittsburgh the last two seasons. One of the wins was a 2015 playoff contest at Red Bull Arena. They swept the Hounds 3-1 and 1-0 during the 2016 regular season.

League Lines: Pittsburgh is part of the 15-team USL Eastern Conference. Taking the pitch with the Hounds this season are the Bethlehem Steel FC, Charleston Battery, Charlotte Independence, FC Cincinnati, Harrisburg City Islanders, Louisville City FC, New York Red Bulls II, Orlando City B, Ottawa Fury FC, Richmond Kickers, Rochester Rhinos, Saint Louis FC, Tampa Bay Rowdies, and Toronto FC II.

Corner Kicks: The 2017 campaign will see new faces added to Hounds head coach Dave Brandt’s technical staff.  Coming on board with Brandt and assistant coach Dan Visser are Andrew Scheck as an assistant coach and former Hounds goalkeeper Hunter Gilstrap serving as goalie coach.

Leigh Anne Cowger is back for her second season as the head athletic trainer, while Mike Whiteman is officially the head strength and conditioning coach for the Hounds.

UPDATE: The USL released the 2017 schedule Tuesday for the 30 weeks of the regular season. The Hounds play 16 matches at Highmark Stadium and another 16 on the road.

2017 Riverhounds Regular Season Schedule:

Saturday, March 25 – (HOME) – Vs. New York Red Bulls II
Saturday, April 1 – (HOME) – Vs. FC Cincinnati
Saturday, April 8 2017 – (Away) – At Charleston Battery
Wednesday, April 12 2017 – (HOME) – Vs. Saint Louis FC
Saturday, April 15 – (Away) – At Charlotte Independence
Saturday, April 22 – (Away) – At Richmond Kickers
Saturday, April 29 – (HOME) – Vs. Harrisburg City Islanders
Wednesday, May 3 – (HOME) – Vs. Toronto FC II
Saturday, May 13 – (Away) – At Ottawa Fury FC
Saturday, May 20 – (HOME) – Vs. Louisville City FC
Wednesday, May 24 – (Away) – At Harrisburg City Islanders
Saturday, June 3 – (HOME) – Vs. Orlando City B
Saturday, June 10 – (Away) – At Toronto FC II
Saturday, June 17 – (Away) – At Louisville City FC
Thursday, June 22 – (HOME) – Vs. Tampa Bay Rowdies
Tuesday, July 4 – (HOME) – Vs. Charlotte Independence
Saturday, July 8 – (Away) – At Orlando City B
Saturday, July 15 – (Away) – At Bethlehem Steel FC
Saturday, July 22 – (Away) – At Rochester Rhinos
Wednesday, July 26 – (HOME) – Vs. Charleston Battery
Saturday, July 29 – (Away) – At Tampa Bay Rowdies
Saturday, Aug. 5 – (HOME) – Vs. Richmond Kickers
Saturday, Aug. 12 – (Away) – At Harrisburg City Islanders
Saturday, Aug. 19 – (Away) – At Saint Louis FC
Saturday, Aug. 26 – (HOME) – Vs. Bethlehem Steel FC
Saturday, Sept. 2 – (Away) – At FC Cincinnati
Saturday, Sept. 9 – (HOME) – Vs. Louisville City FC
Saturday, Sept. 16 – (HOME) – Vs. Rochester Rhinos
Sunday, Sept. 24 – (Away) – At Bethlehem Steel FC
Saturday, Sept. 30 – (Away) – At New York Red Bulls II
Saturday, Oct. 7 – (HOME) – Vs. Rochester Rhinos
Saturday, Oct. 14 – (HOME) – Vs. Ottawa Fury FC

USL President Jake Edwards told the league website, “We are happy to unveil the regular season schedule for what is set to be the biggest and most exciting season in the league’s history. I’m very appreciative of the work that has been done by the staff from both the league and its clubs, and for the patience that has been shown by our fans during this process. This season will be marked by a number of heated rivalries, and new clubs and venues, with all the thrill and drama that has become the hallmark of USL soccer. The countdown to the new season is now officially underway.”

To Top