Gatorade rebrands NBA’s D-League into new G-League

The NBA D-League will now be known as the NBA Gatorade League, or the G-League for short, the league announced on Tuesday.

The minor league started in 2001 as the National Basketball Development League but shortened its name to the D-League in 2005. The G-League, which it’s called now, is comprised of 22 teams. Three additional teams will be added in the 2017-18 season, bringing the league closer to a full 30-team farm system for the NBA.

The G-League is mostly a mix of young prospects and veterans hoping to be called up to the NBA. The new NBA labor deal is expected to boost salaries and make the transition from the minor league to the NBA smoother financially. As it stands now, a single 10-day contract in the NBA is worth more than a full season of work in the G-League.

To Top