Frontier League

Washington Wild Things: 2017 Home Schedule; Extend Mgr’s Deal

The harsh winds of winter will give way to the gentler breezes of spring and summer as the Washington Wild Things prepare for their 16th season of playing baseball in the Frontier League in 2017.

Washington put up 356 runs and surrendered 389 runs in 2016. The Red, Black, and White finished in third place in the FL Eastern Division with a 46-49 mark under manager Gregg Langbehn. The pitching staff’s accomplishments included finishing third in team ERA while leading the FL in fewest hits allowed and recording the most saves.

MORE PITTSBURGH SPORTS: Pittsburgh Thunderbirds: 2017 AUDL Regular Season Schedule

The Wild Things disclosed Tuesday they and Langbehn agreed to an extension that will keep him with the team through the 2019 season. He told the team’s website, “I would like to thank Stu & Francine Williams, Steve Zavacky, Tony Buccilli and the rest of the front office staff for giving me the opportunity to manage the Wild Things. I look forward to the upcoming 2017 season and years beyond as we continue to pursue a Championship and give the great fans of Washington and the surrounding communities something to look forward to each and every night at the ballpark.”

Since the beginning of January, Washington has added to their roster with the signing of right-handed pitchers Davis Adkins (Georgia Gwinnett College) and Josh Falbo (West Virginia State University); outfielders Quinnton Mack and Bralin Jackson; catcher Bobby San Martin (James Madison University), and infielder Nick Berger. They traded shortstop Austin Wobrock to the Florence Freedom for righty Mark Smyth (West Liberty University).

Over the course of their 48 home match-ups, there will be nine-weekend series and five Wednesday doubleheaders. Some of the more popular promotions fans enjoy that are part of the Summer of 2017 include Thirsty Thursday, Fireworks Friday, Giveaway Saturday, and Kid’s Day Sunday.

2017 Washington Wild Things Home Schedule:

MAY

Friday, May 19 – Vs. WINDY CITY THUNDERBOLTS – 7:05 PM
Saturday, May 20 – Vs. WINDY CITY THUNDERBOLTS – 7:05 PM
Sunday, May 21 – Vs. WINDY CITY THUNDERBOLTS – 5:05 PM

Wednesday, May 24 – Vs. SOUTHERN ILLINOIS MINERS – 6:05 PM – *(DH)*
Thursday, May 25 – Vs. SOUTHERN ILLINOIS MINERS – 7:05 PM

Friday, May 26 – Vs. FLORENCE FREEDOM – 7:05 PM
Saturday, May 27 – Vs. FLORENCE FREEDOM – 7:05 PM
Sunday, May 28 – Vs. FLORENCE FREEDOM – 5:05 PM

JUNE

Friday, June 2 – Vs. TRAVERSE CITY BEACH BUMS – 7:05 PM
Saturday, June 3 – Vs. TRAVERSE CITY BEACH BUMS – 7:05 PM
Sunday, June 4 – Vs. TRAVERSE CITY BEACH BUMS – 5:05 PM

Wednesday, June 14 – Vs. RIVER CITY RASCALS – 6:05 PM – *(DH)*
Thursday, June 15 – Vs. RIVER CITY RASCALS – 7:05 PM

Friday, June 16 – Vs. EVANSVILLE OTTERS – 7:05 PM
Saturday, June 17 – Vs. EVANSVILLE OTTERS – 7:05 PM
Sunday, June 18 – Vs. EVANSVILLE OTTERS – 5:05 PM

Tuesday, June 27 – Vs. TRAVERSE CITY BEACH BUMS – 7:05 PM
Wednesday, June 28 – Vs. TRAVERSE CITY BEACH BUMS – 7:05 PM
Thursday, June 29 – Vs. TRAVERSE CITY BEACH BUMS – 7:05 PM

Friday, June 30 – Vs. JOLIET SLAMMERS – 7:05 PM

JULY

Saturday, July 1 – Vs. JOLIET SLAMMERS – 7:05 PM
Sunday, July 2 – Vs. JOLIET SLAMMERS – 5:05 PM

Friday, July 7 – Vs. GATEWAY GRIZZLIES – 7:05 PM
Saturday, July 8 – Vs. GATEWAY GRIZZLIES – 7:05 PM
Sunday, July 9 – Vs. GATEWAY GRIZZLIES – 5:05 PM

Friday, July 14 – Vs. WINDY CITY THUNDERBOLTS – 7:05 PM
Saturday, July 15 – Vs. WINDY CITY THUNDERBOLTS – 7:05 PM
Sunday, July 16 – Vs. WINDY CITY THUNDERBOLTS – 5:05 PM

Wednesday, July 26 – Vs. NORMAL CORNBELTERS – 6:05 PM – *(DH)*
Thursday, July 27 – Vs. NORMAL CORNBELTERS – 7:05 PM

AUGUST

Friday, Aug. 4 – Vs. LAKE ERIE CRUSHERS – 7:05 PM
Saturday, Aug. 5 – Vs. LAKE ERIE CRUSHERS – 7:05 PM
Sunday, Aug. 6 – Vs. LAKE ERIE CRUSHERS – 5:05 PM

Wednesday, Aug. 9 – Vs. SCHAUMBURG BOOMERS – 6:05 PM – *(DH)*
Thursday, Aug. 10 – Vs. SCHAUMBURG BOOMERS – 7:05 PM

Friday, Aug. 18 – Vs. LAKE ERIE CRUSHERS – 7:05 PM
Saturday, Aug. 19 – Vs. LAKE ERIE CRUSHERS – 7:05 PM
Sunday, Aug. 20 – Vs. LAKE ERIE CRUSHERS – 5:05 PM

Tuesday, Aug. 22 – Vs. SCHAUMBURG BOOMERS – 7:05 PM
Wednesday, Aug. 23 – Vs. SCHAUMBURG BOOMERS – 7:05 PM
Thursday, Aug. 24 – Vs. SCHAUMBURG BOOMERS – 7:05 PM

Wednesday, Aug. 30 – Vs. JOLIET SLAMMERS – 6:05 PM – *(DH)*
Thursday, Aug. 31 – Vs. JOLIET SLAMMERS – 7:05 PM

From The Clipboard: The Frontier League begins their Divisional Round of the playoffs Tuesday, Sept. 5 with the Championship Series taking the diamond Tuesday, Sept. 12 and wrapping up Monday, Sept. 18, if a contest is necessary. The Evansville Otters are 2016 defending FL Champions.

To Top