NFL Betting

Chipper Jones Gets Elected to The MLB Hall if Fame

Photo by Associated Press /Times Free Press

Growing up being an Atlanta Braves fan, this day was very special to me because like every Braves fan, Chipper Jones was my favorite player. Chipper was more than a baseball player to my generation, he was a hero. I remember growing up in little league, and every kid begged for the #10 jersey because we all wanted to be Chipper Jones. Last night, the final accomplishment for an illustrious career was made. Chipper Jones was a first ballot hall of famer.

Chipper Jones was selected 1st overall in the 1990 MLB Draft by the Atlanta Braves. Jones would go on to spend his entire 23 year professional career (19 in the MLB) with the Braves. Chipper made his Major League Debut on September 11, 1993. He would finish out the year with the MLB club. He would miss the 1994 season due to a torn ACL, so 1995 would be his official rookie season. The Braves would go on to beat the Cleveland Indians in the 95 World Series.

By The Numbers 

Chipper Jones was probably the second greatest switch hitter of all time, only to the great Mickey Mantle. Jones gave every pitcher around the league nightmares because it was tough to game plan around him. He was such a good hitter. Chipper batted an astounding .303 for his career (.303 left handed and .304 right handed). He finished with a .401 on base percentage, 2,726 hits, 468 homeruns, and 1,623 RBIs.

Career Accomplishments

As we all know, Chipper had many accomplishments throughout his career. He dominated the MLB for 19 seasons, so here is a list of his accomplishments.

1999 MVP

1999&2000 Silver Slugger

1996 1997 1998 2000 2001 2008 2011 2012 National League All-Star

2008 MLB Batting Champion

1995 World Series Champion

1990 #1 MLB Draft Pick

#10 Atlanta Braves jersey retired 

2018 inductee to the National Baseball Hall of Fame

Chipper Jones was a first ballot hall of famer and received 97.2% vote. Chipper was joined by Jim Thome, Vladimir Guerrero, and Trevor Hoffman as the 2018 hall of fame inductees.

BetNow Sportsbook
To Top